Our Member of Parliament – Right Honourable Sir Patrick McLoughlin

Wirksworth’s local Conservative MP since May 1986 is (now Sir) Patrick McLoughlin – Initially representative for West Derbyshire, the constituency changed to Derbyshire Dales in May 2010.

(Tel:) 020 7219 3511 or write to Patrick Mcloughlin’s email

Members of the European Parliament

Of the 72 United Kingdom Members of the European Parliament elected in the European Parliament elections on 22 May 2014, the following represent the East Midlands region:

  • Roger Helmer (UKIP)
  • Emma McClarkin (Conservative)
  • Glenis Willmott (Labour)
  • Margaret Lucille Jeanne Parker (UKIP)
  • Andrew Iain Lewer (Conservative)
  • Full details can be found here


Parish Records

We are very fortunate to have the massive historical resource kindly input by the wonderful, prolific and assiduous John Palmer –  link one of his many sites – Wirksworth Parish Records here – over 450,000 records on this site alone (he has 23 others!).

Also among his sites, there is a the fascinating account of the sale of Hopton Hall, the home of the renowned Gell family, in 1986. The Gells (pronounced Jell) were a large landowning family, and are immortalised in the names of a number of schools (Anthony Gell & Temperance Gell) as well as the more romantic ‘Via Gellia’, a road presumably named after the Roman fashion, and used to transport lead.



Town Council 

Details of our town council can be found

on the website here:

Town Clerk – Paul Jennings
Wirksworth Town Council
Town Hall
Coldwell Street


Tel: 01629 823408


Derbyshire Dales District Council   Website here:

Derbyshire Dales District Council
Town Hall, Bank Road
Matlock, Derbyshire
DE4 3NN   Tel: 01629 761 100



Derbyshire County Council
County Hall
DE4 3AG  Tel: 01629 533190

website here…