Middleton Top Visitor Centre, Middleton By Wirksworth, DE4 4LS
 http://www.derbyshire.gov.uk/leisure/countryside/countryside_sites/visitor_centres/middleton_top/
 01629 533298

The Middleton Top Countryside Centre is situated on the High Peak Trail, Middleton by Wirksworth.


Middleton Top, as you might expect, is at the top of a hill and offers delightful views of the surrounding countryside.

This site has a visitor centre, gift shop and cycle hire centre, car park, toilets and picnic area. Whether on foot, horse or bike it is an ideal place to start your visit along the beautiful High Peak Trail.

It houses the restored steam engine house built in 1829 by the Butterley Company to haul wagons up the Middleton incline.

The Middleton Top Engine House is open to the public on certain weekends throughout the year.

Operating & Steam times are below:

Sunday 1st April

Monday 2nd April

Sunday 6th May

Monday 7th May

Sunday 27th May

Monday 28th May

Sunday 3rd June

Sunday 1st July

Sunday 22nd July

Sunday 29th July

Sunday 5th August

Sunday 12th August

Sunday 19th August

Sunday 26th August

Monday 27th August

Sunday 16th September – OPEN DAY  – FREE! Donations Welcome

Sunday 7th October.

 

 

 

The countryside centre sells a range of books, maps, leaflets and gifts, along with hot and cold drinks, ice creams and snacks. There are plenty of places nearby to enjoy a scenic picnic including Redhill Quarry Nature Reserve located behind Middleton Top. Here you will find wildflowers growing in abundance in the summer, including several species of orchid.

Visitor centre summer opening hours

  • Easter to August: between 9.30am and 4.45pm
  • September to October: weekends only and October half term.

Visitor centre winter opening hours

  • Weekends only, November to Easter: between 9.30am and 4.15pm.

Facilities available

  • FootpathYes
  • Bridleway/Horse riding trailYes
  • Picnic areaYes
  • Wildlife areaYes
  • MuseumYes
  • Light refreshmentsYes
  • ParkingYes
  • ToiletsYes
  • Easy access for allYes
  • On-site informationYes
  • Nature trailYes
  • Events areaNo
  • Cycle pathYes

Contact details

Address:
Middleton Top Countryside Centre
Middleton by Wirksworth
Derbyshire
DE4 4LS
Telephone: 01629 533298

Opening Hours

Opens
Closes
Monday
09:30
16:45
Tuesday
09:30
16:45
Wednesday
09:30
16:45
Thursday
09:30
16:45
Friday
09:30
16:45
Saturday
09:30
16:45
Sunday
09:30
16:45

  • Middleton Top Engine House
  • Middleton Top Engine House